Who is running for Congress in CA-45?

The candidate filing period for the primary election on June 5, 2018 ended yesterday with 6 candidates filing their papers to run for Congress. The candidates are Brian Forde (D), John Graham (I), Kia Hamadanchy (D), Dave Min (D), Katie Porter (D), and Mimi Walters (R).

Candidate Information and links to their social media sites can be found on our page here.

Anyone registered to vote, regardless of party affiliation, may vote in the primary under the California "Top Two" Primary law. This means that Republicans, Democrats, No Party Preference (NPP) voters, and voters with other party affiliations, can all vote for the same candidates in the primary election.  The top two vote recipients in a state based office (like Congressional Representative) then move on to the November general election, regardless of party affiliation.

The "Top Two" Primary Law was passed by California voters in 2010. Even though the political parties don't seem to like it, "the only undisputed winners in changing the primary rules have been unaffiliated "independent" voters, who used to be banned by some parties from voting in their primaries. Now there's one large slate of candidates, and everyone can vote for anyone."

For more on the "Top Two" primary, and the parties' reactions, see this article from the Los Angeles Times, 9/10/17.